free website stats program Safety Your Thoughts | Harley Davidson Forums

Safety Your Thoughts

HDDon

Experienced Member
Contributor
Retired Moderators
Recently there have been several threads that dealt with accidents and damage as well as equipment malfunctions. I am by no means a safety expert, but I have over the years become more aware of how to take care of my ride and how to ride with more awareness. I would like to hear from our members and moderators as to their thoughts on what safety means to them as well as tips that will make us all safer riders.

I ride like every one is blind and if they can see me they want to kill me. I've almost been tagged a few times by morons. As far as myself being safe, I give the bike a good once over tire pressure etc. and try not to get too complacent.

Great thread HDDon!!! I ride as if I am invisible, And always go with instinct. If I think a vehicle is going to do something to invade my space I prepare evasive action just in the case. The reason for this is because 75% of the time the the violation of my space happens. Over 25 years of riding I have incorporated this thought process into my ride, so it has become second nature and has become very fluid while riding. I also maintain my bike so I am always a step ahead of a problem, and know what bike needs to be a 100% functional. Reading safety articles monthly to keep the thought process fresh, and as always PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!!!!!!