free website stats program Running Light / Brake Light / Turn Signal Conversion Kit | Harley Davidson Forums

Running Light / Brake Light / Turn Signal Conversion Kit

Pilot

I'm new to riding my new to me 2007 XL883L. Hope to commute the 25 miles to work on it in good weather. Most mornings I'll be on the road before sun up so I'm thinking of adding the HD Auxiliary Running Light / Brake Light / Turn Signal Conversion Kit to add needed rear lighting. Wondering if anybody has experience with this kit. Are the rear turn signals turned into running lights bright enough to make a difference? I'm guessing there is an intensity increase when they're used as brake and/or turn signals. Is it possible to convert over to a 2 filament bulb? Is there a better ( brighter) way to do it?

I'm also relocating the rear turn signals and adding saddle bags. (need a place for my lunch). HD or a third party make anything to fill the original mounting holes?

Really enjoy the forum. For 90% of my questions I can get answers without typing a line. Great bunch of people with a wealth of information.

Thanks - Pilot

I added a kit to my 96 883. The turn signals are brighter especially if you add led bulbs. Just a quick note don't go to dealer for the bulbs find a truck stop or a trailer store and the will sell them for half the price. The turn signals also blink 3 times on mine and then stay on so it really helps out. I have a picture of my sportster on the introduce yourself at the top of the forum. It is under hey or busfreak. As for the saddle bags get a back pack if you just want it for your lunch or get some cheap throw over bags.

I think the brake,run,turn is the way to go.
I checked into changing to a two socket base, but you still need to run wires to the other lights, it started to look like the way to go, then I found the kit.
And it was going to cost more to change the sockets than the kit, and not have all the functions as the kit.:newsmile016: