free website stats program Ruby is sick... | Harley Davidson Forums

Ruby is sick...

RubysDad

Hey Y'all... I'm a newb here, and came to ask a question... Hopefully someone, or a lot of someones have had this problem, and know what it is, an how to fix it...

Ruby is a 2004 RK Classic... She has 11K miles on her, and I bought her not quite 3 weeks ago... Once the bike is ridden, and really warmed up, the front end starts making a hollow clunking when hitting even minor bumps... On Labor Day weekend I took a ride to another state... I ended up putting about 300 miles on her that day... But what hapened really spooked me, and at this point I cannot trust the bike, and it is currently at the shop, and has been so for over a week, and they keep telling me there is nothing wrong with it...

I noticed the hollow clunking on the out of state ride even on minor bumps, like I previously mentioned, but in turns, the front end would start making the noise, it would feel like the forks wer not dampening the front end, and it felt like it wanted to wash out on me... Coming home, I got out on the interstate for a bit, and above 65, the front end started making the noise again, and felt like it wanted to drift off, to the point where it felt like I was going to lose it... I had to imediately back down to about 60... I was really spooked...

Does anyone have a clue to what this might be?... I really need the help...

TNX,

Ruby's Dad...

Hey Y'all... I'm a newb here, and came to ask a question... Hopefully someone, or a lot of someones have had this problem, and know what it is, an how to fix it...