free website stats program Rinehart Slipons | Harley Davidson Forums

Rinehart Slipons

hd4evr

Banned
How many of you guys running Rinehart slipons are getting a LOT of popping and backfiring with them? I've been putting up with this for about 5 months and it (EDIT) ! They sound terrible when going up through the gears backfiring between shifts. I've got a PC III installed with what my "indy" says is the correct map. I've taken the bike to three different dealers. The last time the head of service took my bike for a ride and said "hey, that's just how Rineharts sound". I have some friends with the same setup, and theirs DON'T sound like that. The bike has never been dynoed. I was told by the HD tech it didn't need it. My question is, do YOUR Rineharts do this? My bike is a 2007 FLHRC with Rinehart slipons, a PCIII, and SE air cleaner. I'm ready to pull them off and throw them in the trash. Should I get a dyno tune before I go crazy? I hate to think I'd pay $3-400 and still have them do the same thing .

Please read this...

A Friendly Reminder - Harley Davidson Community

Last edited by a moderator:
How many of you guys running Rinehart slipons are getting a LOT of popping and backfiring with them?

Popping and backfiring are really two complete different circumstances. You are actually getting backfiring (flames) from the Rinehart Slip-On's. I would say that proper fuel/spark mapping should take care of backfiring. (Based on no air leaks)

Rinehart's on my bike don't backfire or decel pop. Now one time I believe I didn't let the fuel burn off so when I started the bike back up it backfired. Since then I try and let Ruby idle a few moments before I turn the switch to off.

One word DOBECK. I just put the gen 3 EJK on last Friday and wow makes a very big improvement. I think you will be very pleased. I have Rineharts but have true duals. Ps. if you are a vet you can get it for 175.00$