free website stats program Replacing Stock Carb for 7/8 SS Carb | Harley Davidson Forums

Replacing Stock Carb for 7/8 SS Carb

Beckysan

Hey All!
I have a question, and am just looking for a little discussion. I have a 1994 Heritage Softail that I had been having some issues with. Got the major one all fixed up (turned out one of my battery cables was almost completely severed!!, but also found a leaky rockerbox) and have been riding, riding riding ever since.

The other day she started acting up again, like she was out of gas, but there was plenty. I have been noticing that she backfires every time I fill her up, and if I don't let her warm up really long (on high choke) she starts acting like that again. I am assuming (newbie here) that the pop could be a sticky float, but I am looking at the over all bigger picture here and wondering...

My bike is almost 20 years old and everything is stock. She has 33k on her, I have heard a lot of people switching over to the SS or Mikuni carbs. Would it benefit me to do this? I am looking to get another 10 years out of her (she's a ton of fun!) but I also want to take care of some of what I think could be bigger issues a hand. Or would I just be better off continuing to clean out the stock carb every season, and just keep rebuilding that one? I appreciate everyone's thoughts. Thanks!

Given the age of the carb I would say it's probably time for a rebuild. I would try to fix what you have instead of putting the money into the S&S one.

The stock carb is hard to beat. I would give the carb a good dissembling and cleaning and make sure the jets are all clean and also remove the tank and give it a good cleaning and flushing first, then put in new fuel.

While you are in there, your problem with the choke could be due to a jet that is too small (ie 42/43 stock jet). In your case a low jet of 45/46 should do a good job and not require as much choke to get it running.