free website stats program Rear Brake Pad Dragging | Harley Davidson Forums

Rear Brake Pad Dragging

a_myrv

On '09 Sportster Iron 883 with 2K miles the rear brake pad has started to drag. I only notice it by the noise it makes when I back the bike out getting ready to ride. It doesn't seem to be making a lot of drag but it still seems like the pad is not relaxing and going back into the caliper.

Is this something to be concerned about? Should I flush the MC and caliper for the rear brake system?

I am new to Harleys and Sportsters so y'alls guidance is much appreciated.

Thanks,

Alan in TN

This is one way I have used in the past...

I would test to see if the pads are really dragging by taking the bike for a ride for a mile or so and ONLY use the front brake. Stop the bike & feel the rear rotor with your fingers. Careful! If the calipers are really dragging, you will burn you fingers so fast you won't believe it. You should be able to touch the rotor without burning your fingers.

If you can touch the rotor with your fingers I would say you have nothing to worry about. Caliper piston actually relax like you said. They really don't mechanically retract.

Hoop!

On '09 Sportster Iron 883 with 2K miles the rear brake pad has started to drag. I only notice it by the noise it makes when I back the bike out getting ready to ride. It doesn't seem to be making a lot of drag but it still seems like the pad is not relaxing and going back into the caliper.

Is this something to be concerned about? Should I flush the MC and caliper for the rear brake system?

I am new to Harleys and Sportsters so y'alls guidance is much appreciated.

Thanks,

Alan in TN

How bad does it drag?If you are able to, elevate the rear wheel off the ground,and give it a spin.All disc brakes drag to a certain extent,so your wheel wont freewheel,but neither will it be all that hard to turn.