free website stats program Question regarding the 833 vs the 1200 | Harley Davidson Forums

Question regarding the 833 vs the 1200

bikerdude

I am new to all of this & would really value a peice of advice from those that know ...

I am looking to buy my first Harley , & really my first "proper" big bike.

My question is 3 things

1, Do you think the 833 is a reasonable starter bike or is it too much for a learner / newbie

2. If it is ok to start with , do you think that I will regret not going straight for the 1200 size, & have to quickly upgrade

3. If the answer to 1 & 2 is YES , the obviois question is , Do you think the 1200 is a reasonable starter bike or is it too much for a learner / newbie

Am going to base my purchase on the considered opinion of you guys , so really appreciate your input

Thanks in advance

bikerdude

in my opinion the sportster in general is not a good starter bike for anyone, people often call them a "girls bike" or "beginner bike" because they are the smallest of the harleys, but in reality their power to weight ratio makes them faster than a lot of big twins, which is why harley uses them for their race bikes, i have never owned a sportser but i do ride a lot of them, the thing i dont like about them is the size of the overal bike (im 6'6) but thats what makes them fast, and they tend to have very stiff suspension in my opinion (and i ride a rigid) my first pic for any rider beginner or veteran is the dyna street bob, my fave factory harley hands down. it doesnt have bags or anything but if your lookin into a sportster i would imagine that doesnt matter to you. a sporty is a great bike if it fits you, i would just recommend going to the dealer and test ride everything they have, even if your not gonna buy the bike from them, thats what their demo bikes are for. just ride every bike you can and pic the one that fits you best.