free website stats program Primary goes out at 25k miles FLHTCU | Harley Davidson Forums

Primary goes out at 25k miles FLHTCU

240gordie

I need some help on this one. I have a 2010 FLHTCU with 25 K , the primary bearing is making a thrashing sound. Harley Tec said it was going out. I am going to perform the trans bearing and primary bearings and seal reinstalls. My mind bender is why did it go out in 25K , the reading is pointing to the primary chain slack adjuster. It gets to tight and put excessive pressure on the primary bearing. I have been looking at the baker chain tensioner. Should I install the Baker chain tensioner and the high tourque primary bearing and seal or just stay with the Harley stock. Any ideas appreciated . I have done all maintenance myself to the book. I am a mechanic by trade.
Thanks in advance.

If you use the engine a lot for braking, the tensioner will ratchet too tight. Even one hard event will do it. The Baker has not gotten as good of reviews for the newer ('07 up) as the original ones. They seem to have a lot of pressure also. I have read of several that spot weld the adjuster with a small amount of chain slack. Just my opinion.

Thanks for the reason why it does get to tight. I do have a shift down at times that is strong, the rein harts sound very nice with a good down shift once in awhile. Is there another chain tensioner that can make sence, or do I just need to stop down shifting ? Do you know anything about the Baker bearing?

The newer style adjuster does indeed make the chain very tight on many of our bikes. One answer is after-market tensioners like the Hayden M6-BT07 and/or the one from SoWest which is popular too. Another is to tack weld the OEM auto tensioner where so it maintains proper tension and cannot tighten up.