free website stats program PLEASE HELP! 2003 XLH 883 Sportster Cams | Harley Davidson Forums

PLEASE HELP! 2003 XLH 883 Sportster Cams

cchd

Hi All,

Well I am in a really big mess. I need some serious help in getting my bike back up and running. Here's the problem. I asked the local HD parts guy for the gaskets to replace all of the fluids in my bike. He produed 2 gaskets and 2 O rings. I opened up the Primary drive chain cover inspected cleaned and replaced the old gasket and adjusted the drive train for slack. Then I moved to the other side of the bike and removed the cover for the gasket I got. I didn't know this was the locations of the cam gears. When I pulled off the cover and saw them I almost lost my mind. You would think a parts person might ask or warn a person that he needs to make take caution in taking this cover off. I have never worked on a Harley before so I thought it would not be a problem. However, it is a BIG problem as I don't have a service manual to reference nor can I purchase one at this time. Sooooo I am in DESPERATE need of a true Harley wrench who can explain to me how I 1. line up the cams (does #1 cylinder need to be Top Dead center) and 2. how do you get them back under the push rods? I have worked on rice burners and other bikes but new to Harley and I DO WANT TO LEARN HOW TO Wrench it for myself. I love working on it, but until I get this resolved my beautiful machine will be sitting in the guarage. I would appreciate any help I can get!

Thanks in advance,
Charlie :wall