free website stats program P o w e r | Harley Davidson Forums

P o w e r

anjumkha

FLHT 2007

I am new to HD. I have a Yamaha FJR which is really a great and fast sport tourer.
The Electra Glide I just bot has its own merits but does not have the power or the acceleration, I am accustomed . I know they are different beasts.

Is there any thing I can do to improve power on my EG ? I hear the phrases like Stage one, Power commander.

To me Stage one means punching holes in the exhaust plate, a practice all Yamaha Road Star folks do to improve the sound.

M Khan

Frankly Stage 1 means letting your bike "breath"...after all the engine is basically a big air pump, that generates rear tire rotational horsepower to the ground. What this means is to replace or modify the intake (air cleaner - Harley or airbox as well - Metric ), richen fueling (Air/Fuel mixture closer to 12.5 to 1 or so) and the exhaust (muffler/slip-ons or entire pipe/headers). How you go about doing this incrementally or all at once is really the deal. Stage 2 and beyond means you are going into the engine and may affect durability or reliability of the bike overall, unless you follow "tried and true" lines. Most stay with Stage I for this reason. Your ride, you decide...:)

Just compare apple to apples... Your Harley will have much more torque than most Metrics. By performing a Stage 1 you will gain approx. 4-5 HP. I know this from experience because owning a big Metric cruiser that I had with a rebuilt engine that had a 1 over on the piston and a Stage 1. With the mods I could easily out run a Metric but could never catch a stock Harley..