free website stats program Oil question | Harley Davidson Forums

Oil question

cmohr

O.K. I will admit I am a little lost here (getting old & don't know much)!!
Is Gear Oil & Tranny fuild the same?:newsmile040:

I own a 2001 Electra Glide. When I put the bike it 1st (some times) It will kinda grid a little or just not go in a few sec's later it will with no prob. When I change gears its kinda loud, like a clunk.
I let a friend take a ride on it, I never said anything about it to see if he would notice, but he said nothing, said it rode real nice.
I am new to Hd's he is an old HD ridder, who also rebuilds and knows the bikes well.
So is it just me?

I have always used the best fluids ALWAYS in my bikes, better spend a little now, then alote later!
So whats the bottom dollar here? What ARE the "best" recommended oils?
Oil, Tranny and Primary?
The bike has always had Synthetic is there synthetic Tranny and Primary?
..Are they ALL just flat out an OIL? :help

Joy has you covered on oils. The clunk and grind noises you hear are pretty normal. They always clunk from neutral to 1st and usually less noticeable as you go into each higher gear. A good synthetic helps, you can decide which brand while you're reading. :D

Joy has you covered on oils. The clunk and grind noises you hear are pretty normal. They always clunk from neutral to 1st and usually less noticeable as you go into each higher gear. A good synthetic helps, you can decide which brand while you're reading. :D

If they didnt clunk they wouldnt be a Harley, But a synthetic will lessen the clunk and wear and tear for sure

A lot of times when you FIRST start when cold.... The clutch is TIGHT and will cause a grind-BUMP of the cogs when you put into first..

I usually squeeze the clutch lever in ALL the way and hold for about :30 seconds and let it LOOSEN on its own..... SOME TIMES no bumping.. but like you said WHEN you FIRST start out..