free website stats program Oil change, Electra Glide Ultra 04 | Harley Davidson Forums

Oil change, Electra Glide Ultra 04

Lorenzini

Not sure it is the right place for my 2 questions... I guess those points have been discussed tons of times but I can't find clear answers.

I am planning to make the oil change for the Electra I just bought. I have a Honda Seven Fifty and I do all that kind of things by myself.

Regarding the oil, I heard that we can use simple mineral oils (20w50 for the engine, 10w40 for the primary, 80w90 for the transmission). And I heard we can use synthetic oil... I am not an expert in the oil field, I thought synthetic is better than mineral. Do you have experience on that ?

Is it compulsory to put the bike on a central stand ? If I leave it on its left stand, is that an issue ?

I thank you in advance for your help.

Fred

Fred, I have an 09 Ultra. For the engine, I use Mobil 1, 20-50 V Twin synthetic; for the transmission I use either Amsoil 75/90 synthetic gear oil or Redline shockproof V twin synthetic transmission oil; and for the primary, I use HD Formula plus. There are other good oils to use but I have had no problems at all after 50,000 miles.

Fred, I have an 09 Ultra. For the engine, I use Mobil 1, 20-50 V Twin synthetic; for the transmission I use either Amsoil 75/90 synthetic gear oil or Redline shockproof V twin synthetic transmission oil; and for the primary, I use HD Formula plus. There are other good oils to use but I have had no problems at all after 50,000 miles.
Ditto on Redline shockproof, Don't be alarmed by strange color. Easier shifts...

Are you saying that you wish to add a center stand or leave parked on jack up in the air????

Are you saying that you wish to add a center stand or leave parked on jack up in the air????