free website stats program Off Idle stutter or miss | Harley Davidson Forums

Off Idle stutter or miss

The Bad Man's Angel

I husband says if I'm gonna ride my own bike I have to learn to fix it as well.
My bike is a completely stock 2006 XL883L - Custom. With 1100 miles. Dealer serviced at 1000. I'm the 2nd owner, Bike had 600 miles when I got it last month.
The only complaint I have with it is a slight miss or stutter just off idle. Dealer told me that "they all do it and I should just learn to live with it."
I'm not a mechanical Wisard but I do no how everything works. Seams to me that the carb is to lean.
Any help?

The carbs are lean from the factory and the dealer is partially correct in this case, otherwise they lie like a rug .

A bit of rejetting in the carb will help out here. Usually upping the low speed jet to a 45/46 will cure the problem. Sometimes just the removal of the plug covering the idle mixture screw and an adjustment there will solve that problem too.

my '06 sporty 883 does this "miss" thing as well. Only when heated up to operating temp and rarely. Every now and again when I am just starting to pull out I will get the miss... and only one pop... it doesn't keep it up.

It does bug me but I learned to live with it... if it was more frequent I'd get all worked up... yep.

glider--- "lie like a rug"... ahahaha

when I bought my bike (used... 4,400 miles) the salesman told me that the bike was fully serviced when they got it in their store (new oil\filter\air filter\plugs\etc). I asked him specifically if all that was all good. I get the bike home and decide to maintain everything... to help me sleep at night. Turned out the oil was jet black and the air filter looked like it was growing a ZZtop beard! nice

When I bought my previous bike... Suzuki Savage 650... I asked the salesman how many horses it had. With a confused look he unconvincingly said.."50~60"... wrong... try 30.