Not immediately accelerating

Discussion in 'Sportster Models' started by Craig121212, Nov 3, 2010.

1. Craig121212

Craig121212 Member

I tried searching the forum for an answer to this but it seems like there are a lot of possibilities. I'm a new Harley owner and I want to make sure I check the easiest fixes first.

I ride an '06 883 and I'm just starting to learn about motors and engines. It seems that lately, when I start it up, I'll let it get warm, and when I throttle to get going the bike is really slow to respond. At first, I thought I was just low on gas so I switched to reserve and filled her up. But its happenning consistently now. Can I get some advice on where I should start.

2. Hoople

Hoople Account Removed

Very strong possibility it could be low fuel pump pressure. If fuel pressure is low, even by a few pounds, the bike will sag off the line.

Several things can cause low injector pressure. Are you doing the work or are you taking it to a professional shop.

3. Craig121212

Craig121212 Member

Once again, I'm trying to learn so forgive the ignorance, but it's carburated so there shouldn't be fuel injectors correct?

4. Hoople

Hoople Account Removed

Carb on a 2006? Your kidding. I thought all carbs were gone by 2006.

My mistake.., disregard my last transmission!:D

Then I would have to say your accelerator pump/ acc-pump linkage/accel diapham needs work..
    Carb experts will jump in and save me!.

5. R. Lewis

R. Lewis Senior Member Retired Moderators

A few ?'s ----- You state that your a "new HD owner" so I'm guessing that your not the org. owner (??) Do you know by chance if any mods have been done? Do you know , since you said it's carb'd , what manf. the carb is? Do you know what jets/needle is in it now? Have you checked for any vacuum/exhaust leaks? what octane fuel you putting in it? Has it been sitting any length of time? How many miles on the scoot?

6. blademan

blademan Active Member