free website stats program Noise's | Harley Davidson Forums

Noise's

seminole1

I have a 2011 Limited with 23K. I have this metallic raddle noise that I only hear on the left side. Doesn't matter what gear, and the noise intensify's as you reach higher rpms before shifting into the next higher gear. It was there when I purchased the bike in Oct. 2010. It has gotten louder the past three weeks. Initally the HD service told me thats just normal harley engine noise. I have a feeling that it could be the rollers on the lifters or the tranny. I have lots of wrenching experience on cars, so not sure if my hunch is correct. Does anyone have any feed back?

Your lifters are located on the right side of the motor. We just had a member with noise in the front end and it turned out to be a loose bolt on the front of the gas tank.

I have this metallic raddle noise that I only hear on the left side. I have lots of wrenching experience on cars, so not sure if my hunch is correct. Does anyone have any feed back?

For the cost of a quart of oil, I would take the primary cover off and take a look. I have re-used the primary cover gasket without a problem with leaks. Take a look at the compensator for "rocking slack". It should be tight when at rest. This will give you a chance to see if auto chain tensioner is working properly.

I would have no problem starting the engine with the cover off just to see where this noise is coming from. You won't hurt anything by running it for 20 seconds with the cover off.

Hoople is correct you will do no damage if you run it for a short period, but you might want to fashion something to keep the oil contained that will sling off the primary chain and clutch basket.

I agree with Hoop and Don, but you may find it's just the primary noise. It can be kinda loud on some bikes. I never heard mine till I got quiet baffles on my pipes, now I hear it.