free website stats program Newbe needs help | Harley Davidson Forums

Newbe needs help

427cougar

Hey guys,
New to the forum and as you can guess, I'm looking for the easy answer. I have a 1992 Sportster with 13,000 miles. I've had it 5-6 years, but I'm an auto technician by trade, and am hoping that someone here can give me a little input. I have not ridden much this summer (shoulder surgery) but starting to ride more now, and it's acting up. (the bike, not my shoulder)

Since last fall it has been giving me a no start every once in a while. Got a little worse, so I replaced the 4 year old battery yesterday. Problem still there. The relay under the seat clicks once but starter is not turning. I already replaced this two years ago. Followed the suggestions on another post and jumped the relay. With the relay pulled out of the connector a little, I jumped the relay with a wire and it started every time.....using the starter button, it only starts once in a while. Problem solved? Not quite.

After riding a couple miles, it starts breaking up/ missing real bad. Loss of power, etc. Tries to clear out,gets worse, clears out, then runs good for 1/2 mile or so and repeats. I noticed when it is running poorly, the turn signals don't work or just flash once real slow.

Sounds like a charging issue to me.....is there ANYWAY that bad relay could cause this? Gonna get a relay tomorrow., but the problem didn't show up for 5 miles today and I live the hills...not easy to get home if it dies.

Stator and regulator replaced 2000 miles ago, idling it has 13 volts, 14.2 at 2000 rpms. Every connection I could find is tight.

I know this is a longshot, but I am supposed to take the bike on a 4 day trip starting Thursday, and am running out of time. Just hoping someone else had this issue. The poor running just started today, battery conections are tight, but it is a cheapie battery.

Thanks, Steve

Cougar,