free website stats program New harley buyer | Harley Davidson Forums

New harley buyer

Kenworth

I have had many different bikes over the past 20 years , but this is my first time to own a Harley. I looking at a 2005 ultra glide classic. 20,000 miles. Any thing to look for, and what do you think of that year and that model.

If the price is right and it is what you are looking for in a bike than I would have to say, you can't really go wrong. A Harley just makes you smile.
It's the best form of decompression I have found. Is it stock?
The old 88ci are great with the 5 speed, but the newer models come with 96ci and a 6 speed tranny. See if you can ride the two before you choose. Good luck and ride safe.

I have had many different bikes over the past 20 years , but this is my first time to own a Harley. I looking at a 2005 ultra glide classic. 20,000 miles. Any thing to look for, and what do you think of that year and that model.

I have an '03 UC. I love the bike, but I have done a few things to it mechanically which I think are enhancements:
  • Changed all lubricants to similar to those recommended in Oil Related Tips
  • Changed out air temp for oil temp gauge on dash
  • True Track "Trackula" upgrades
  • Pioneer 5.25" 2-way Speakers, TS-G1342R (4)
  • 6-spd SE tranny (if I was doing this again I would go with the Baker DD6)
  • Oil cooler (Jagg 10 row low mount horizontal w/oil filter adapter with the thermostat)
  • Roller chain conversion (gets rid of the spring-loaded tensioners)
  • Andrews Products 21N cams
  • TFI
TQ

2005 was a bad year for valve guide seals; many were replaced under warranty but not all had the problem. Check the VIN and see when the bike came off the line. The factory started replacing the seals late in the model year but I don't know exactly when. I have an '05 Deuce that was consuming a quart of oil every 1000-1500 miles; guide seals were bad. If you can contact the previous owner, I would do that and see what he knows.