free website stats program My VIN# got Powder Coated ..What to do? | Harley Davidson Forums

My VIN# got Powder Coated ..What to do?

Justin2wheels

Hello Everyone,
Im a newbie to the forum.. ( it was recommended by a friend )

So here is my dilemma..
Im a happy owner of a Sporty 883 that has been incredibly good to me..About 6 months ago right before I moved to CA from VA, I took my bike apart and decided to give it a well deserved face-lift
I took the frame to get powder coated and clear-coated and I got the frame back just a day before leaving VA.
I was really happy with the look of it but now Ive put the bike back together with some upgrades, a 1200 conversion and cosmetic stuff.. and I just noticed that the VIN# in the neck got covered by the powder coat and you can not see it
if you brush your fingers in there you can feel it but cant see much.. If you use a flashlight in certain position you can sort of identify the last 13 numbers in there (so its definitively my frame)

Now, the question here is what to do? How can I take off the powder coat just in that area or what are my options?

The bike is finally running and i have to do the DMV transfer and out of state Reg so I dont know if they want to inspect the bike and or if I get pull over I'll be in trouble.

Has this happen to anyone before or Im a lucky one ...
Any ideas will be appreciated

thanks
J

Gasoline will remove powder coat...

How much and how to apply ?????

Your call....:newsmile055:

signed....BUBBIE

I would use a Dremmel hand tool with a brass wire wheel attachment. Try it somewhere out of sight first. As the brass is a softer metal than steel, it should expose the numbers and not remove any of the original steel the numbers are pressed into. Take it slow and be careful. Keep it neat and you should be able to clear a nice rectangular badge to view the VIN.

I bet they just use your existing title and issue a new one based on that. I wouldn't do anything for now.