free website stats program My 1985 FXR Custom. | Harley Davidson Forums

My 1985 FXR Custom.

owled

Hello,

I'm new to motorcycles, I used to race motocross but always wanted a Harley and now I have one. I just bought a 1985 FXR two days ago, it seems like it's in perfect running condition or atleast I thought so. Here are some "minor" problems I found with it while riding it after I took it home that the previous owner did not mention to me.

-Speedometer isn't working.

-Oil Light is on/Leaking oil on to the engine/belt.

-Front Right turn signal does not stay in place/work. The back one does however.

-Grips slip while being held.

-Peg rubber needs to be replaced.

But the main ones I need to be fixed are the first three, so I was wondering how I go about it? If you could help me step by step that would be greatly appreciated and if there are any other suggestions that I might need, please feel free to tell me. Thank you.

I'll post pictures as soon as I can, I think there is a post limit before you can?

Thank you,

Hello,

I'm new to motorcycles, I used to race motocross but always wanted a Harley and now I have one. I just bought a 1985 FXR two days ago, it seems like it's in perfect running condition or atleast I thought so. Here are some "minor" problems I found with it while riding it after I took it home that the previous owner did not mention to me.

-Speedometer isn't working.

You'll find the inner cable is broken probably and needs replacing. There's a tiny screw on the drive down on the bottom facing downwards if you have to separate the housing from it.

-Oil Light is on/Leaking oil on to the engine/belt.

You need to address this right away if it is either a sending unit, wiring or a problem with the oil pump. A manual pressure guage hooked up will tell the story here.

-Front Right turn signal does not stay in place/work. The back one does however.

Possibly a bulb out or a problem with the wiring. Try replacing the bulb first.