free website stats program Mikuni 42 idling through main jet | Harley Davidson Forums

Mikuni 42 idling through main jet

nascar7613

1994 Dyna, Mikuni 42 carb. When running the bike at idle or very low throttle position, the fuel is coming through the main jet in massive amounts. The bike will not idle without cracking the throttle, and with the bike running looking through the carb, fuel is gushing through the needle jet. Carb is clean, new float valve & seat, float adjusted properly. It does not overflow with the motor off. Some reason it is pulling fuel through the main jet when it shouldn't be.

I'm by no means an expert on the Mikuni but when i've seen this happen on other carbs the float was either sticking or it wasn't adjusted correctly.

There will always be fuel coming through the main jet at any time
the amount of fuel coming through the main jet is controlled by the slide needle which has a taper on it the further out the needle is the thinner the needle is so allowing more fuel to flow
The fuel is drawn from the jet by means of a vacuum created by the flow of air over the top of the jet
There is no device that blocks the main jet to stop fuel from being delivered by it
An incorrectly set float or a leaking float needle valve could cause excess fuel to be delivered through the main jet however there would also be fuel leaking from the float bowl or overflow
the inability to idle may be caused by a leaking inlet gasket allowing air into the system between the carb and the engine causing a weak mixture
A blocked slow valve could also be the cause of this type of problem
A wee bit more investigation may be required to find the problem but a weak mixture is more likely than too much fuel

Brian