free website stats program Looking to buy my first bike. | Harley Davidson Forums

Looking to buy my first bike.

cumminspwrd02

Hi, I'm new to the forum and to bikes. I've been wanting to own a Harley since I was a kid (24 now) and now I can afford one. I'd like to buy a new or lightly used harley. THis will be my first bike, I've not road a one before. I have been on quads, 3wheelers, sleds, and most other types of equipment but not motorcycles. I've been looking at the XL1200L sportster, the XL1200C sportster, and the Dyna Super glide. I have done a little research and have seen that the 1200 is more of a favorite than the 883 is when it comes to sprtster models. What would you recomend for a first bike, I'd like to stick with HD and not and import bike. Also I do plan on doing my own maintenance, I am a diesel mechanic by trade. Sorry for the long winded post and thanks to any replies!

First of all -- welcome aboard and take the riding course. find a dealer that rents scooters and try a couple. Are you going to do any 2-up riding, long runs are a few questions to answer. Take your time and find "your" bike!!! Also welcome to the world of H D motorcycles and chrommie add-ons!!!!! :D

I would use the bike for rides on the weekend in the spring/summer/fall seasons and commuting to work on nice days during the summer.The girlfriend and I would ride on the bike together, but for the most part it would just be me. I saw on the H-D website a thing for first time riders to take classes through their local dealer. I also have a friend who teaches an ABATE class in my area too. I've been thinking about geting a bike for while and with the price of diesel fuel lately and bike would be a nice commuter in the summer compared to my dodge. Winter time I can drive the truck. Whats a good recomendation on a starter bike?

Whats a good recomendation on a starter bike?