free website stats program Looking into Stage 1 but where is the best place to buy parts? | Harley Davidson Forums

Looking into Stage 1 but where is the best place to buy parts?

ghost2277

Hello everyone!

I just bought my 2009 Fat Bob and I want to do the stage 1 upgrade, I already have V&H big shots staggered but I need to buy a good air cleaner, filter, and fuel tuner. Where is the best place to get this stuff? I would like to get the best parts I can and get the most gains I can from the equiptment. what kinda price should I expect to pay for all the parts? Also is there anything I can do to my exhaust to get better performance? I have seen alot of people talking about modifying the baffles and what not but I don't understand how that effect anything. Do V&H pipes restrict air flow? I am a newbie to all this so I apologize in advance if some of my questions sound stupid but we all have to start somewhere.:newsmile040:

I went with a Big Sucker. A little time searching the web and you can find them for about $30 less than and SE.

Welcome to the forum Ghost. There are 2 K&N filters that will fit your stock air box. One is just a replacement, and the other is "improved flow". For more money, there's the Ness Big Sucker, or the Screamin Eagle. Both have different mounting plates (back), for improved flow. There are many other brands and styles. Some use the stock "football" cover, and others have thier own specific cover (or open filter). I'd suggest going to the tips section (tab at top left of the page) and reading up on air filters. Decide what you will be satisfied with in the long run, not what you can afford now. One guy I know has spent a lot of $$ because he kept "slightly" upgrading his air filter system, until he got what he should have bought first. For a quick look at the many different styles and costs of air cleaners, go to ebay and search "harley air cleaner or filter". That will give you a quick look at many.