free website stats program Longest time gone without an oil change | Harley Davidson Forums

Longest time gone without an oil change

BuffaloBill

Hey Guys

Not trying to make excuses but When I 1st got my RK I changed the fluids at 100, 500 and 1500miles. Then I had issues come up where I would try to set time up for changing the fluids and never got around to it . This past weekend I looked at the odometer and it was at 8100 miles Changed all 3 fluids immediately. I use Amsoil for engine Spectra for tranny and Formula+ for primary.
Bike still runs great but in the back of my mind I hope all is good mechanicaly

Anyone else laps on there fluid change?:(

BuffaloBill

BuffaloBill, I’m not a mechanic, but I’ll give you my humble opinion based on a similar situation. In July ’06 I rode my softail deuce from Richmond, VA to Vernal, UT. I took a few detours along the way and by the time I got to Gillette, WY on the way home I needed an oil change as I had gone exactly 5000 miles since the last one. I saw a Harley dealership from the interstate and thought my timing was perfect. Unfortunately it was Monday and they were closed on Mondays. By the time I got home, I had gone almost two thousand miles beyond needing an oil change. Now, almost five years later, the deuce still runs like a Swiss watch. You should have had an oil change 1,600 miles ago, but I would be surprised if this lapse will prove to be catastrophic. You didn’t say how long ago your 1,500 mile fluid change was done, so I can only wonder if your bike has been through multiple winters with extreme temperature variations. If it hasn’t, I’m guessing you will be fine.

I've gone 10,000 miles on the bike without thinking about it. I'll wager you could get by with 30,000 with this link. Blackstone Labs