free website stats program loctite 262 vs. 271 | Harley Davidson Forums

loctite 262 vs. 271

glimmerman

ok, got my primary stuff and did the lapping. went to get a new tube of red 262. stopped at napa where i got the valve grinding compound to lap the compensator parts. permatex/napa red 271. same name blue 242 and green 290. dash over to the depot. red 271. buy it and call the toll free hotline for red 262. Henkel Corp. in CT. have to talk to industrial division. seems that 262 is not recommmend for auto service and its use is a misapplication of the product.
now i'm getting hot. said if h-d says to use 262, it means 2-6-2 and not 2-7-1. find out i have to go to an industrial supply house like msc or graingers to get it. not available at auto parts stores. does it ever get easier or am i too old. my money is green. it used to spend everywhere. now nobody wants it except the crooks.

I've been using 262 as recommended by Harley for more then 10 years on every cam job I've done and never a problem, it's always worked great for me.

if h-d says to use 262, it means 2-6-2 and not 2-7-1.

I hear what your saying but I myself would not get too carried away with using the exact Loctite number. Type 271 & 262 are very similar to each other. I have used both and found the 271 to cure pretty fast, almost while your tightening the bolt. The viscosity of 271 is thinner also.

When you really think about it, your suppose to use a Primer on the threads before you use either type. And how many people really do it? I bet not many. So if we are not really following the rule book when it comes to the application of the product, how big of a difference will it make to use 271 over 262.

According to the Loctite catalog, there really is not much difference in both products. Viscosity being the main one that I see.

But I can understand you wanting to follow the book to the T. That is a Good habit to have. I just would not read too deep into it.