free website stats program Lil help on how to get the rotor off | Harley Davidson Forums

Lil help on how to get the rotor off

mtmasean

I saw on here a thread that had pictures of the step by step process which was pretty good but, I can't find it again. I also looked at the tips too on stator replacement. Most of the info had you use a puller bolted to the rotor to pull it off. Easy enough except mine does not have holes in the rotor to bolt to. This is a 85 FXEF Evo 1340. Should I drill my own holes and thread? If so, how far from the shaft and is there anything behind it to avoid? Most of the videos also had it to where you could get the rotor and stator off without having to pull off the inner primary. My question is do I need to pull off the inner primary? This is my first time doing this and believe me I researched this before getting into this (apparently not enough though :(). I also have the service manual but, was trying some of the ways in the videos and pictures as a reference too.

Most of the videos also stated to torque the compensator nut to 150-165 ft/lbs. My manual says 100. Has this been revised or should just torque to what my manual says? Thanks in advance for the help.

If your manual is for THAT bike and year, do what it says.

On getting the rotor off, what does the book say? I would NOT drill the rotor. You would have to ensure that you drilled both holes exactly opposite each other, the same distance from the center of the rotor and removed the same amount of metal so that you do not affect the balance of the rotor.

I have never seen a rotor without the holes drilled in it for removal. I do not use a puller, but do thread some carriage bolts into the holes, grab those with lock-jaw pliers and yank the rotor off that way.

TQ