free website stats program KEY STUCK IN FORK LOCK FAT BOB 2009 | Harley Davidson Forums

KEY STUCK IN FORK LOCK FAT BOB 2009

nhk750

IMG_0156.jpg

IMG_0155.jpg

IMG_0154.jpg
The key is stuck in the half way position in the fork lock. I tried everything and it only moves back and forth a little bit. Im going to try tapping the key with a hammer and turning when I get home tonight. I'm a mechanic and it is not corrosion as it will move freely, but it is like locked in the center position. I tried to remove it per the manual, but when it try to rotate the lock assembly clockwise the pin is out just enough to hit the frame. I can tap it with a hammer to get it past the frame but don't want to permanently jam it in there. You can see in the pics I have everything loose.

I'm having problems finding videos or detailed explanations on how to fix or remove this, can anyone help?

Well... I'll pass on my experience with this type of issue. I had the same thing happen with the steering head lock on my road king. The key got stuck half way between locked and unlocked. I finally got it to unlock. The next time I locked it, the key would not turn to unlock. After 2 hours of messing with it trying to turn the key, it unlocked. I pulled the headlight housing off to see what was going on and when I disassembled the lock, half the lock and pins fell out in my hand. The lock had split on half causing it to jam.

A friend of mine use to lock his Forks all the time. Couple of those times forgetting that it was locked and riding away he ended up falling over and breaking off the PIN in the head that would lock the forks.
It sounds to me like one of the wafers in the cylinder is stuck. You could go to a locksmith and buy a can of dry lube and spray quite a bit down in there to clean it and see if it'll free it up.
We recently had a Toyota that the cylinder was doing the same as yours and that is all it took to fix it.