free website stats program Just joined... | Harley Davidson Forums

Just joined...

BrettG

Hello all!
Last week, I bought a 2009 (leftover) xl1200L (red, mag wheels) because I love the looks of the bike.
Been riding since I was 14, have had a lot of bikes over the years, mostly Triumphs. I have been riding a 1969 T100R (now on ebay) for the last 5 years, and love the bike, but its too small to bring the wife on the back.

I do all my own work on cars, bikes, stuff around the house.
Back in 1986, I traded my 1979 T140D (Bonneville special) in on an 883, I think they had a 4 speed, rigid mounted motor and chain drive, and liked that bike a lot except the gas tank was too small.
In 1987, I traded it in on a low rider custom, which was very nice.
I traded the low rider custom in on my house 20 some years ago...

I have had a 1979 Triumph T140E Bonneville, the 1969 Daytona, and a 2005 Bonneville black. I dont like the new ones.

I am quite happy with the new Sportster, except for a few things:
The seat is just plain junk!
The suspension is quite poor.

The forks sag at least to half travel, and only move about 4 inches to start with, the rear shocks have very little travel and bottom out badly with the wife on the back (about 170 pounds, don't tell her I said so!).
I figure some new bits are in order, the sundowner seat, longer better rear shocks, some sort of preload spacer for the forks.

Since coming off Triumphs, I expect some ground clearance and handling, and need to get it.
Wish they mase a sport version that looks like the 1200L model, but they dont.
I did get a great deal on the bike though.

Anyone got any idea how the sundowner seat is for long rides?

Also, I could not hear the motor at 60 mph, so I bashed out the disks in the silencers, then it was a bit too loud, so I put some baffles in, and its ok.
I would have stuck without the baffles, but heard that may be to much without paying a lot to get the mixture corrected.