free website stats program Just another sharetime | Harley Davidson Forums

Just another sharetime

R_W_B

Well I was sitting around listening to some old YouTube Jimi Hendrix this morning that really brought back some old memories. Jimi (for those of you not that old) was a short lived Black guitarist during the Viet Nam era. He died from a drug overdose while I was in Viet Nam in 1970. Whatever was and can be said about the man, he could play a Fender Stratocaster like nobody's business. Many of you may not remember that he could play a guitar from either hand. In fact most times he performed with it left handed. This is no minor feat beings that reversing a guitar playing position puts the bass strings on the bottom instead of the top as normal guitar books teach. Jimi could not read music at all. He was totally self taught by ear.

When I got out of the Army he was already dead. But my first year as a civilian again while I was wondering around with a few bolts not torqued to specs, I used to love to listen to him sing and play on my 8 track. He had a good blues voice. The Army had a mix of cultures and races, Whites, Blacks, Ricans, Phillipinos, Chicanos and American Indians. In a combat zone you become quite close with each other and you really learn to appreciate another's culture and race differences. In other words you become very good friends and forget about race but still embrace the new facets you never learned from your own race.