free website stats program Is 21,000 miles much on an Ultra | Harley Davidson Forums

Is 21,000 miles much on an Ultra

Ozoneman

Looking at a 2004 Ultra with 21,000 miles. Is that too many miles on it to consider buying it? How many miles should I expect to get out of the Ultra before I have to invest more in to it?

That's about 5k a year which isn't bad at all. With a good maintenance schedule, you should get many miles out of it. Just keep a check on the cam chain tensioners starting at about 25K miles and then again every 20K or so to see the pattern of wear. They all have the same problems with the TC engines and the tensioners.

If you neglect to check them and they go out on you, you may end up getting a new engine.

Sorry guys, I didn't mean to ask so many questions or be so disoriented. I'm a newbie and I am just trying to get as much information as I can to make a good purchase. As I went along this trip, I found out some things, thanks to you guys, and my direction changed as I was given information. I appreciate all that you have shared with me and you all have helped a lot.

My wife and I want to get in to some thing new. We have been sailing for 30 years and it is getting old. When we first got married I had a Triumph Bonneville. That was my only means of transportation for a few years.

Recently, I first started looking at new bikes and then realized that I could buy a used bike with a lot of accessories and not have to pay as much for the accessories. I want a touring bike because we plan to do some trips. Most of the trips will be overnight trips but we may also do some vacations that will be a week or longer. I think I need something like the Ultra so I can have room for all the stuff my wife will want to bring along. Being 58 years old, I also want something that is as comfortable as possible.