free website stats program intro and question | Harley Davidson Forums

intro and question

trat

Ok guys I'm new on the forum and also just got my first sportster. Its a 2000 1200xlc. I have been riding since I was 12 years old and I am now 67 so I have a lot of experience on motorcycles. I have had Pan Heads and shovels and Triumphs in the past but kinda got side tracked to metric bikes about 12 years ago. First a 1200 Shadow and then for the last 8 years a Yamaha Royal Star. It was a great bike but my knees are bad and getting worse so I needed a lighter bike. Hence the sportster.
My question is about cold starting. Are all sportster cold natured? This one seems to take a long time to warm up. It idles rough until it gets warm then seems to be fine but it takes about 5 or so mins before it will idle good. I might mention that it has had a mukini HRS carb put on it at some point. It may have had something else done to it as well because the vacuum line that goes to the VOES is pluged off. I have been told that if it has some aftermarket ignition that it doesn't need the VOES. I don't know if the guy that told me this is right or not. After it gets warm it runs just fine with a lot of low end torque. Any help that you could give me would be appreciated.

Are you using the enrichner(choke) to warm it up? If not that could be your problem. Not sure on an HRS carb. but with a CV(factory) you would leave it out fully for a minute or 2 then 1/2 way in for a 2-3 more minutes.Depends on outside temps. also If colder outside then longer on choke. Yes some after market Ign. systems have a switch on them for VOES or not. It is probably in the nose cone where you'd find the flip switch. It would also be labeled for the type of unit you have,nice too know info. Oh one more thing;Welcome to the forum
tourbox