free website stats program Installing a clutch able | Harley Davidson Forums

Installing a clutch able

RI75Shovel

I need help finding a vid or instructions on how to install a new clutch cable , i have a 75 shovel head and the old cable is stretched and worn out , i can build a house but i cant turn a wrench so i need something that's kind of step by step , I'm new at wrenching so i don't want to mess it up but i need to learn how to do these small things . Any help or info would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to the forum. Do you have a 4 speed ratchet top tranny?

Welcome to the forum. Do you have a 4 speed ratchet top tranny?

Unless this tranny has been upgraded, the ratchet tranny was used on Big Twins until 1979, when the cow pie made its debut Welcome to The Forum, these clutch cables are external and fairly easy to replace, you may want to start a NEW thread in the proper sub forum for more responses

Last edited by a moderator:
:wce From Colorado. A mod. should come along in the near future and move your post to the proper area so you get more help with your issue.

Thread moved to general tech \ transmission

Welcome to the forum

Brian

Thread moved to general tech \ transmission

Welcome to the forum

Brian

:D Thanks Brian, you are getting good at this:D Changing this clutch cable is fairly easy, measure your old cable first to get the correct length. Lock at the way the cable mounts at the clutch throw out arm on the tranny, count the threads you see exposed, this will be your starting point when you do your install. If you cannot make the proper adjustment here on the cable you will need to remove the derby cover. we can cover that later if you get this far:D