free website stats program Idle cable snapped! | Harley Davidson Forums

Idle cable snapped!

BillMull

Banned
As many of you know by now im new to this Harley mechanic thing. Im trying very hard to learn and do repairs myself, and I have to say I have done good so far. The reason I have done so well so far is because this forum and all the answers I get.

Anyway, today I was cleaning my bike and as most of you know with a lot of bikes you have to turn your handle bars all the way to the right or all the way to the left and then walk away from it. If you dont do that its normal for the handle bars to turn to the direction the bike is leaning. Today, I rolled my bike back to finish cleaning the wheels and let go of the handle bars and the handles bars turned fast and hard causing my idle cable to break. I looked at the cable and you could see the corrosion and rust on it in mid way point of it. So, it was gonna break at some point anyway. Me being me and new to this was wondering if I could still ride my bike with the idle cable broke. I started it and it ran like normal. The reason being I believe is because I had the idle as low as it could go so without the cable it made no difference. I rode it with no problem. My question is, how do you turn the idle down lower than what it is even without the idle cable? My bike to me seems to idle fast and I cant get it to idle down. What do I do? Also, are replacing the idle cable a tough job to do? Thanks a lot!!!:newsmile071:

There is an adjustment screw for the throttle stop near where the 2 cables attach to the carb you will need a a long cross head screwdriver to adjust the throttle stop if the tank and air cleaner are fitted
adjusting this screw will adjust the closed position of the throttle butterfly