free website stats program How to restore chrome look to front head pipe? | Harley Davidson Forums

How to restore chrome look to front head pipe?

digs_harleys

I have an 05 RKC. The front head pipe (exhaust), first 5-6 inches from the head has turned gold in color. tI suspect his happened 2 yrs ago on a very hot/humid day on a long run, some of it was city, it did backfire a little on that day also. I am no mechanic by any stretch. The shop I take it to replaced the o-ring gaskets by the fuel injectors becuase they were in bad shape and might have had something to do with it runing a lil hot. The mapping was re-checked and I'm told OK. Before purchase, the bike sat for three years in an unheated airport hangar in Michigan, (only had 1,500 miles on it at purchase). It has a Power Commander, Arlen Ness Big Sucker and as far as we can tell Boom-Can Slash-up slip-ons. It is running good now, never backfires only that one day on decel and the browning has not increased in color or length. How can I remove that gold color from the exhaust?

Thanks Hobbit!! Gold/Straw is exactly the color! I guess I'll live with it. This site is great, especially for a novice like me.

Thank you Glider!! I was concerned about that too. I will order the shield. I will have to live with the gold/straw color close to the head. Don't want to make things worse. Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:
Glider,

My brand new Cycle Shack pipes discolored (first 5-6 inches from the head) after I picked up my bike and drove 25 miles. Is this normal, please let me know what you think?

Digs_Harleys,

I grew up in Waterford/Pontiac, where are you located and what airport are you talking about?

Glider,

My brand new Cycle Shack pipes discolored (first 5-6 inches from the head) after I picked up my bike and drove 25 miles. Is this normal, please let me know what you think?