free website stats program how to fix leaking shift shaft | Harley Davidson Forums

how to fix leaking shift shaft

ericj205

Just got my first Harley, 07 FXDL and the shifter is leaking oil on the chrome exterior engine/trans cover. There is oil film from the bottom of the shift shaft going straight down the chrome cover towards the foot peg bracket. I believe it is called the outer primary cover? (I'm also new to the Harley terminology) I am very mechancially inclined so I am pretty sure I can fix it but would like some solid advice first.

How do I replace this seal?

Is there a good shop manual for this engine/bike?

thanks in advance,

Think you need the seal named 148 in the diagram not sure the p/n

and # 83 in the outer primary

woops that looks like a drain plug gasket

Attachments

• HD0309036014.jpg
    HD0309036014.jpg
    19 KB · Views: 150
  • pri.jpg
    pri.jpg
    37.2 KB · Views: 111
Get a copy of both the Harley Davidson Service Manual and Also the HD Parts Manual. They will be your best friend when you start to turn the wrenches. Easy fix my friend... :p

there is a gasket between the inner and outer primary around the shift shaft, that will need replacing. they dont clamp very well and if you fit forward controls the gasket can walk out of place and leak.

The best manuel for your bike is the original factory Harley book. Go to the dealer and buy one, it is the best money can buy.
kemo

Just got my first Harley, 07 FXDL and the shifter is leaking oil on the chrome exterior engine/trans cover. There is oil film from the bottom of the shift shaft going straight down the chrome cover towards the foot peg bracket. I believe it is called the outer primary cover? (I'm also new to the Harley terminology) I am very mechancially inclined so I am pretty sure I can fix it but would like some solid advice first.

How do I replace this seal?

Is there a good shop manual for this engine/bike?

thanks in advance,