free website stats program How do you know it is too hot | Harley Davidson Forums

How do you know it is too hot

bigbubba402

Ok I am fairly new to HD so how do you know when the engine is too hot that you need to shut it down.I have an 02 no temp gage if you are stuck in traffic when do you know that you have to get to the side and shut it down for a while to protect the engine.I run Mobil 1

Usually the heat radiating will be a good indication of overheating. If you are at a slow pace in stop and go traffic, there may be some pinging going on when you start to let the clutch out which would be an indication it's time to either get it moving or pull over and let it cool for a while till the traffic starts to move again.

When you are old and your hearing is gone I guess I better put in a temp. gauge. I can't hear the pinging. Most of the time I try and stay out of the traffic but once in awhile I get hungup.

If I get stuck in stop and go on my commute as much as I want to get on it when traffic gets moving again I stay in the right lane and run easy on the throttle until I get some air flowing on the block for a bit. I'm not a mechanical expert but figure if the bike is hot from stop and go and I imediately get on the throttle hard it may cause some unnecessary wear and tear!!!!

On the newer bikes - when EITMS kicks in...she's hot. Your '02 would be when your sweating like a pig & bike's sluggish...time to pull over.

On the newer bikes - when EITMS kicks in...she's hot. Your '02 would be when your sweating like a pig & bike's sluggish...time to pull over.