free website stats program Highway/Interstate Riding Tips | Harley Davidson Forums

Highway/Interstate Riding Tips

btharris24

Forum,
I've been riding bikes off and on for the last 25 years or so but have never really done much highway riding, mostly country roads and 2 lane highways. I recently moved to a bigger city and from time to time need to ride on the Interstate. I see bikes crusing up and down the highway all the time and the riders seem so comfortable and relaxed, me, not white knuckles or anything but the pucker factor is certainly up there. I just put a winshield on and that helps quite a bit but theres still alot of turbulence from cars and especially 18 wheelers, do you guys have any riding tips that would help me loosen up a little on the highways? I would like to take some longer trips and venture out a little more, just not real excited about being on the highways.

Thanks,
bh

It comes with miles and experience. After clocking up some saddle time, you will feel relaxed to a degree but always keep your wits about you on the highway, there's too many nut jobs out there.

I ride about 75 miles each way to work everyday and about 40 of those miles are on the interstate. When I first started I was not a big fan but the good thing about the interstate is you don't have to worry about people pulling out in front of you.

I ride about 75 miles each way to work everyday and about 40 of those miles are on the interstate. When I first started I was not a big fan but the good thing about the interstate is you don't have to worry about people pulling out in front of you.

I think I know what you meant to say - you don't have to worry about people pulling out in front of you from an intersection or a stop sign. You certainly DO still need to watch for people pulling in front of you during a lane change or making a mad dash for an exit or merging right into you because they can't see you.

Smitty, sounds like you've got a thing for trucks!:p