free website stats program Help! Too Much Primary Fluid... | Harley Davidson Forums

Help! Too Much Primary Fluid...

T-Skully

This is my first time posting here so bare with me not to mention that this is my first Harley ('96 Road King) and I have only had it for about 8 months. This forum has been a huge help answering a lot of questions that I've had. My problem now is that I changed my primary fluid a couple of weeks ago and used Formula +. My owners manual calls for approximately 38-44 oz so I split the difference and added about 41 oz. Then it slowly started to where I couldn't find neutral and then started to shift hard. I adjusted the clutch as stated on this forum several times and still nothing. After getting fed up I took it to a local shop yesterday. On my way there I noticed that the clutch was slipping if I gave it some throttle when cruising down the road. The shop said that I had too much primary fluid in and that the clutch was saturated and would need to be replaced and of course it would only cost about $400.00 to fix. Isn't a wet clutch supposed to be wet? Anyway they re-adjusted the clutch, drained some of the fluid and when I left it was slipping worse than before I got there. Could not find neutral and barely first gear for that fact. So I took it back home let it cool down completely and just to satisfy my curiosity I checked the adjustment they had done and it looks as if they only adjusted the screw out a 1/4 turn not 1/2-1 whole turn as stated here and in my manual. I proceeded to re-adjust it out to 1/2 turn, re-adjusted the cable and road it a couple of miles. Still slipped at first but seemed to start to straighten out. Now all of a sudden I can find neutral with no problem and it shifts fine. Still slips a little when I give it throttle when cruising but seems to be less than before. Seems to be getting better the more I ride it. My questions are have I ruined my clutch? Does it sound like it needs to be replaced? If I did saturate it