free website stats program HELP..... Locktight or no locktight | Harley Davidson Forums

HELP..... Locktight or no locktight

carz

Im new to working on bikes, and i have my stator pulled out of the bike ( All burnt like the guys here said it would prob be from the stench from the fluid. thx guys...). now can anyone tell me if i have to use lock tight on anything? and i mean anything, all the way down to the primary cover bolts, exct... I went out and waisted $60 on a manuel from harley and it was such a waist of money, i get more help here than i did from reading the book cover to cover! also does anyone know where i can get diagrams of areas of the bike so ill know what parts are called (Cause as i said im new to working on bikes..) instead of walking in to the dealership everytime with a box of parts.. and not knowing what the guys are refuring to... thanks

Some great locktight info on the self help here.

Rule of thumb is blue on items you revisit frequently.Red on items you hope you never service again.Finaly green for items that require life altering humility.

I use LockTight whenever I can. Using the correct locktight is important. Red (271) for things that don't get hot & you don't plan on taking apart in the future. Red (272) for High strength along with Hi Heat application. Blue (242) medium strength for things you will want to take apart without using heat.

A Parts Manual may help with names of parts and diagrams but I didn't see a Parts catalog listed for the 89 FXST. Don't know why.??