free website stats program Harley Davidson's Suggestion Box | Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Davidson's Suggestion Box

DDogg

What would you engineer differently on your Harley if you had the chance to make a change? I'm a spline and gear engineer and we do alot of work for Harley. I was talking to an Engineer the other day and the conversation changed to my bike. He asked me if I could change or add something to my bike, what would it be? We got to talking and I told him about a forum I frequent (HDTimeline) and that would make a excellent post. So, he suggested I post asking if you had a chance to make a change or addition to your bike what would it be? Let's hold this guy to his word. You let us know what you would change if you were an engineer. I'll keep up with this post and compile a list. Let's not list problems unless a change you recommend can fix the problem. I've worked with this engineer for years. He said the way things are with the economy, they need all the help they can get to make a better product along with making changes that will sell. I believe our recommendations will be read by who matters. So, if have an idea, let's hear it.

Lets use more US and Canada parts and get rid of the cheap crankshafts and bearings.
kemo

Larger diameter fork tubes on the touring bikes would get rid of a lot of the front end problems for those that want to ride their bikes a little harder.
Too much bend and flop in the present set-up.I am replacing mine this winter.

Eliminate the ambiant temp guage and replace it with an oil temp guage on touring models.

Also like to see some sort of a glove box incorporated into the batwing fairing.

Eliminate the ambiant temp guage and replace it with an oil temp guage on touring models.

Also like to see some sort of a glove box incorporated into the batwing fairing.
:small3d018:
Most definitely!!!! That air gauge is garbage!:lolrolling Also would like to see better quality tour pak hinges and latches!