free website stats program Handlebar Shaking | Harley Davidson Forums

Handlebar Shaking

Tourer

Hello - I've been using this website for the past five years as it always has such a wealth of knowledge out there. I've learned how to do most items on my first Harley myself with this sites help. A new problem that I can find an answer to that I'm having is while driving the handlebars vibrate as if the wheel is turning left and right. It seems to be getting worse to the point that I almost need to have two hands on the bars at all time. Has any encountered this before and have any suggestions as to where to start the investigation? Thank you.

A few possibilities that come to mind.
low tire pressure/tire delaminating/tire cupping/loose steering head bearings/ bad wheel bearing. There are others, but I forgot right now.:D

A few possibilities that come to mind.
low tire pressure/tire delaminating/tire cupping/loose steering head bearings/ bad wheel bearing. There are others, but I forgot right now.:D

Thank you Breeze3at. I've checked the steering head bearing tightness per the shop manual and that was okay. I'm still on the original tire with 16K miles on it am going to be replacing it shortly so will be sure to inspect the wheel bearings at the same point.

All good suggestions so far. However, let me ask what hasn't been asked yet. What was the last maintenance procedure or modification that you performed before you noticed this? Did you just notice it all of a sudden or has it been getting gradually worse? Does it happen on all types of road surface? All speeds? Straight, left turn, right turn? Did you do something to change the balance of the bike (weight shift to the rear unloading the front tire?)