free website stats program Had a noise, thought I blew it up | Harley Davidson Forums

Had a noise, thought I blew it up

awall

I was riding home on my 09 Heritage softail. At 75 mph on interstate it started making a noise that sounded like a broken rod. I pulled in the clutch and shut off engine and costed to the side of the road. Checked everything I could and found nothing unusual. I started engine and it was fine. I started riding it slow and when I got to 30mph it started making that noise again but not too bad cause I was driving slow. At 20 mph it didn"t make any noise so I drove it home that way. I removed primary case cover to check out things. Is what I found was a very loose primary chain. The automatic chain tensioner had stuck down and wouldn"t take up the slack in chain. I moved it up and down a few times and it got to where it would hold the tension. I adjusted clutch, cause it needed it, and put it all back together. I've put 500 miles on it with no more problems. I am going to get a new tensioner and put it on as soon as I can. So far all is well. Has anyone ever heard of this happening before?

I've got an 08 FLHX with 27000+ miles on it and the only time I had a problem one time when I first started the bike it rattled like that, but when I put it in gear it went away and I've never experienced it again. One of those freak occurances I guess?

have you thought of installing a HAYDEN primary chain tensioner p/n M6-BT07 for all '07 &up big twin/twin cam.i hear that this will be a bit easier on the bearing, but you don,t have a insp. window. & i can,t fint anyone who makes
a primary that has one for the mate t/c.engine. i bought one just in case i have a problem such as you have experienced. on my '09 t/g. good luck.