free website stats program Fuel Leak from fitting | Harley Davidson Forums

Fuel Leak from fitting

jblack

I have fuel leaking from the fitting on the right fuel line in the pic. What is this part called so I can look into replacing it. Is this a common problem, fuel leaking from this fitting? It just started out of the blue no issues whatsoever before. Is there a gasket to replace or does the whole fitting have to be replaced? Thanks for any help whatsoever. I'm brand new to Harley's.

Attachments

• DSC02614.jpg
    DSC02614.jpg
    76.6 KB · Views: 497
That is the fuel quick disconnect. You have to pull the fuel pump fuse and crank the engine then or you will get a bath when you disconnect it, there's about 50# of fuel pressure in there.. There's an "O" ring in there that may need replacing. Try removing it and check it out to see if you can see a break or nick in the "O" ring.

You really have to look to find the oring and believe it or not it is the same one used on the drain plugs!!!. You will probably have to pull the tank and turn it upside down..

I had what i figured was this same issue. I followed the instructions you fine folks put out here... thank you for those... however, after i was pretty happy i got the fitting off the bottom of the tank and got the o-ring replaced, and the whole fitting with that long snake of hose put back onto the tank, reattached the line... put my fuse back and turned the power nob to get ready to fire back up... it is spraying out of the fitting now... any other suggestions or is it time for me to take it in to the doctors office(dealership)

before i had a drip at the fitting, now a spray... :cry