free website stats program Front Forks - '04 FLHRCI | Harley Davidson Forums

Front Forks - '04 FLHRCI

FLHRCI_Bob

I am looking for some advice on front fork work on a '04 FLHRCI, roughly 60k on miles.

I disassembled the nacelle and everything to change the front fork oil. After doing the change, I lowered the bike before putting the nacelle back together and compressed the forks a couple of times. I was surprise to see that the left side fork tube now had oil on it. It did not before the change of fork oil. I did replace the fork cap nut seal and I did torque the fork cap nuts to 60 ft-lbs as per the manual spec. I did use a funnel and carefully put in the oil, precisely measured to 11.1 ozs. The right fork is clean, no oil.

I am a book mechanic. No pro shop experience, just pick-up a book, read the procedure and execute it. I have successfully installed new handlebars with internal wiring, r & r'd wheels (front and rear), installed auto primary chain adjuster, installed new speedometer (digital, multi-function), oil pressure and oil temp gauges (mount to handlebar shroud, what a task to get the temp sending unit in the "L" shaped hose from the tank to the crankcase), drivers seat backrest bracket. Obviously I do my own routine maintenance. So I think I am better then average, but certainly no pro. Now my questions -

1. For the guys with experience in rebuilding forks (Road King is conventional right and left), I have the manual, can I do this job myself?

2. Are there work arounds for the necessary tools -

A. Fork Tube Holder (HD-41177)
B. Fork Oil Seal Installer (HD-34634)

3. The fork tube plug does not seem very accessible, yet must be removed and must be set to a torque specification (very wide ( 22 - 58 ft-lbs ). There are flats on the plug, but I am not sure what tool would be used on them. What is the trick to this removal, and how do you use a torque wrench on this part while reinstalling?