free website stats program frankenharley clutch | Harley Davidson Forums

frankenharley clutch

Nezzie1340

Hi guys, my name is Vic and I'm new here. I don't own a Harley(yet) but I'm putting together a mixed Harley bike for a friend that he picked up. It's based on a soft tail heavily modified frame. I have no experience with these machines so I guess I'll be leaning on you guys heavily for the next little while to give me some help. Hope that's okay. Lol. The engine is an older S&S super stock with Super E carb Etc. The clutch came in pieces in a cardboard box and I have a new clutch hub and a bunch of new parts to go in and just wanted to know if five friction discs and four steel plates is the correct number I need. One steel is an anti rattle plate ?? It has three ball bearings in holders around the outside. What position in the clutch pack does it sit? Any help you can give me is appreciated. Trying to get parts for this thing is difficult as on the ownership it's classed as a modified bike. It's a Harley but nowhere on the title does it say that. Thanks in advance. Vic. :D

Welcome! The number of plates is correct. Usually all the steels are anti-rattle. But you can inter-mix them. Sounds like you are building an older style drive system. How many finger does the basket have?

I'm gonna move this over the clutch section.

Again Welcome!