free website stats program FLHX Owners Stock Exhaust Headers | Harley Davidson Forums

FLHX Owners Stock Exhaust Headers

Sadist112

I am new to the forum so I apologize if this question was already raised.

I am also new to HDs and am thinking about buying a 2008/2009 Street Glide. I looked at them last night and overall very impressed. I have read numerous articles online about their handling and functionality and have only read about some misc concerns, (i.e. the bike can shutter at high speeds when maneuvering do to the swing arm being attached to the rubber engine mounts, which i understand there is a fix)

However, my only concern after looking at the bike is that portions of the front exhaust header are not covered by shrouds/heat shields. Which would lead me to believe after time the yellowing of the exhaust header would be easily seem through the gaps in the chrome heat shields.

Have any owners with stock pipes experienced this? Also while I'm at it any other general concerns?

Thanks in advance.

Phil

(i.e. the bike can shutter at high speeds when maneuvering do to the swing arm being attached to the rubber engine mounts, which i understand there is a fix)

However, my only concern after looking at the bike is that portions of the front exhaust header are not covered by shrouds/heat shields. Which would lead me to believe after time the yellowing of the exhaust header would be easily seem through the gaps in the chrome heat shields.

Phil

The bagger swing arms are attached to the frames unlike the dyna line, they are the ones that are attached to the rear of the trans which is in turn mounted to the rubber mounted engine.

As far as the discoloring, Kuryakyn sells a shield for about $30 and also HD sells a full coverage one for about $75 to cover up the portion that is exposed that turns gold and blue.

About the yellow collor, I think you can find out what will happen on the stock pipes in the following pic: