free website stats program FLHRC 99 Fuel Economy | Harley Davidson Forums

FLHRC 99 Fuel Economy

Sixftfive

Just joined and was wondering if you could direct me.

My 99 RC has a terrible fuel milage 120 miles to a tank is not unusual. Is this normal or can something be done about this. My VW Golf GTI does better than my bike.

Ok, understand as a novice I am not sure where to look

As far as I was told by the guy i bought it from it was a fairly stock bike apart from the mustang seat.

Take a look at the air filter to see if it is clean for starters. That will knock the MPG down considerably. Also maybe run some cleaner through the fuel system.

Thanks Glider will make a start on that and in the meantime will try and get specifics on what mod may have been carried out and get a picture of what that means.

Will report back on the experience

Just joined and was wondering if you could direct me.

My 99 RC has a terrible fuel milage 120 miles to a tank is not unusual. Is this normal or can something be done about this. My VW Golf GTI does better than my bike.

Couple of quick questions:
  1. What are you using to determine that you are out of gas at 120 miles?
  2. Is your bike carb or EFI?
  3. Have you been recording NUMBER of MILES ridden and NUMBER of GALLONS purchased at each fill up?

See here:

Fuel mileage - Harley Davidson Community

TQ