free website stats program Firming up the brake lever on 03 Fatboy??? | Harley Davidson Forums

Firming up the brake lever on 03 Fatboy???

08FatBob

I'm posting this on behalf of my old man who rides an 03 Fat Boy. I noticed when we swapped bikes the other day that I can just about pull the front brake lever clear to the grip. He also noticed that my brake lever was much firmer than his. I looked through his service manual but couldn't find anything there on a possible cause and solution. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

I'm posting this on behalf of my old man who rides an 03 Fat Boy. I noticed when we swapped bikes the other day that I can just about pull the front brake lever clear to the grip. He also noticed that my brake lever was much firmer than his. I looked through his service manual but couldn't find anything there on a possible cause and solution. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

WHOA! :11: I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination, but what's the fluid level showing?

I not an expert, but I would suggest checking the brake pads for wear and replacing if neccesary. And if they need replacing or not I would check all the lines and components for a possible leak and then try bleeding the brakes to make sure there is no air in the lines. I'm sure if I am off base Glider or Hobbit will be along soon to give you the correct info. Good luck, ride safe.

You guys are great for all the quick responses, thanks so much. The fluid level is per the service manual, 1/8" from the top. Brake wear is about 50% remaining, and my dad keeps that thing looking like it did the day he bought it, so no leaks, we would have seen any. Also, I thought of bleeding, and we tried that today but to no avail. Still soft, and to catch the last question I think, brakes have never been serviced, he's only got about 8500 miles on it. Keep the ideas coming please.