free website stats program Finding neutral on 2009 883L | Harley Davidson Forums

Finding neutral on 2009 883L

JayTea

Hello all,

I am a novice rider and this is my first post, so please be easy on me :D

I just bought a used 2009 883L (1400 miles) in great condition and I love it. The only thing is that it's kinda difficult to find Neutral between first and second gears (either up or down shifting).

When up-shifting from first gear, most of the times it seems to skip "neutral" and goes straight to 2nd gear and vice-versa even if i tried to be as slight as i could to half-shift it into neutral...So sometimes it goes to neutral successfully and most of the times it 's very easy to skip neutral.

Is this normal or something wrong? What should I do to test this correctly?

Thank you very much.
Jeremy

Welcome JayTea to HDTimeline forum...there is plenty of things for the enthusiast or seasoned rider to help make your HD experience enjoyable and make servicing your ride a snap.

Regarding finding neutral, sometimes it is tough to find the right touch in between 1st and 2nd and even toughter from 2nd to 1st mainly due to the fact when stopped, the clutch drag may come into play (more slack when hot) and sometimes if the tranny is slightly overfilled, and also being new. Some of it is skill also, shifting and slightly releasing clutch to take tension off the gears may make finding neutral easier.

Last edited:
sometimes easier to find neutral when the bike is moving, either change gears
while coming to a stop, or even rolling the bike a little while stopped may help as well.

A better oil in the tranny will help too ;)

Hi jaytea,

I'm no expert.
Usually when difficult finding N, the clutch gap is too close. I mean, the bike can move with the clutch lever released less than halfway.
If that's what u have, U can do some tweaking on the clutch adjuster (thick cable by the chassis on front left side) slide the rubber cover, then u'll find the adjuster.