free website stats program Fatboy for my first ride? | Harley Davidson Forums

Fatboy for my first ride?

WildPowerPlay18

Hi,

I was wondering if I could get some input on whether I should purchase a Fatboy for my first bike. I have been wanting to get a bike for several years now and it is a fatboy that I really want. I have no experience on a bike before but I will be taking classes before I purchase one. I have heard that beginners should start out on a smaller bike and work their way up, but I think that I can learn on the bike that I really want. I'm 34 years old, 6 feet tall and 200 pounds, so I think I can handle the Fatboy. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

buy what ya want or you will be unhappy later .. i had no real road exp before i bought my road king so it was my first on road bike.. a Fat Boy would be a fine first ride i think it was a toss up between a Fat boy and a Road king for me

Get the Fat Boy if that's the bike you want. I just got back to riding bikes after not riding for about 18 years and got a great deal on an 05 Fat Boy. Its a great bike and you will enjoy it a lot.

If you get a bike that you really didn't want or like, you will be very unhappy.

My first bike was a Fatboy. I got it when I was 51. I found it to be a very easy bike to ride. Go for it!!

I'll go with everyone else - get the Fatboy since it is your dream bike.

Definitely take a rider's course, either the MSF or Harley's are great. Then the same advice to anyone climbing on their first bike, no matter what size - take it slow and easy and practice, practice, practice what you leaarned in the course.

Welcome to the forum and the wonderful world of two wheeled fun! :cheers

I'm almost hesitant to disagree,but am willing to cop any vitriol dished out.