free website stats program Fair price for a 1956 rolling chasis? | Harley Davidson Forums

Fair price for a 1956 rolling chasis?

JimBeam

First off, I'm a newbie but I've been bitten by the HD bug recently after seeing an Iron 883. I've been looking in my area and I've come across a 1956 rolling chasis. I don't want to post the price because I'd like to hear fair opinions on what I should offer - IMO the seller is looking for a miracle, but I may be wrong.

I realize that there's a world of difference between this bike and a new Iron 883 but I have a large workspace, smarter than the average bear and I've been looking for a project. What do y'all think about this bike?

Attachments

• photo (10).JPG
    photo (10).JPG
    26.2 KB · Views: 84
Don't know anything about price but make sure it has a vin#. Have heard it's real hard to title without the vin# already on bike. Just an FYI.
Welcome to the forum.

How about a little more info on the rolling chasis. Is this a stock Harley frame? With the horseshoe oil tank and the gusset at the neck it looks aftermarket. I can't really see the trans but it looks like an older ratchet top. Do you know what type of shape the trans is in? Is there any rust on the wheel rims or spokes? Do you know is the frame is set up for a Pan, Shovel or Evo engine?